Rankings

2019 UWW Senior World Championships
2019 Final X
2019 Junior Greco-Roman National Duals
2019 Junior Boys' Freestyle National Duals
Division changes for 2019-2020 OHSAA Dual Championships
2019 AAU National Duals (Disney Duals)
2019 Yasar Dogu International Tournament
2019 Junior and 16U National Championships (Fargo)
Division changes for 2019-2020 OHSAA Individual Championships

Forum Home

Forum Search

Register

► Add to the Discussion

Discussion Topic: I need some coaching advice from this fountain of knowledge.
Mike Taylor added to this discussion on January 8, 2009

To all of you who are part of this forum, I need some advice. I am a volunteer coach at a fairly successful wrestling program here in eastern Iowa. The technique taugh is very good, but there is just one problem. Some of the kids just seem to be fine counting the lights. Because I'm a newcomer, I work primarily with the JV (which I love, by the way). If any of you have ever been in a similar situation and was able to instill some pride and toughness into that kid, how did you do it? Right now, there are 2 problems I face. First, I DO NOT want to start overrunning the head coach. I'm not that kind of person, and I would never want to do anything to cause dissention. That is no way to repay the kindness he has shown me in allowing me to assist him in the programs success. Secondly, I don't want to become overbearing to the kids...especially the ones who might only be out for the sport for the fun of it. Not a serious wrestler. Problem is at this point in their career I can't tell who the "serious" ones are and who are just out for fun. I look forward to the wisdom that will be shared. Thanks a ton in advance.
Mike Taylor
Cedar Rapids, IA

Add to the discussion and quote this      

Mark Palumbo added to this discussion on January 8, 2009